Fun with Food: Rebekah’s Chocolate Brownie

For some time, I have been lamenting the fact that I can not make brownie. There was the Tana Ramsay brownie incident, followed by many further attempts with further recipes. Even the “perfect brownie recipe” I pinned on Pinterest was a failure. I was beginning to think that a chocolate brownie was my baking nemesis; I was ready to give up.

But then – THEN! My friend Rebekah and I were discussing what we were going to bake for The Sisterhood’s Ninja Cookie Drop, and she mentioned she had a fail-safe brownie recipe. I begged for the recipe, and when it arrived in my Facebook inbox, I printed it out straight away and set to baking.

And on that day, I am proud to say that I conquered the brownie.

IMG_1892I believe I may have shouted from the rooftop. I definitely let a few people know who were aware of my…weakness; they demanded proof, and they got it.

Since then, I’ve been baking this brownie every few weeks. It’s my go-to “Gah! We’ve got people coming round and there’s nothing in the tins!” sweet treat, and I’ve been bravely trying different combinations. And it still works, by some miracle.

IMG_1895You can replace the chocolate chips with white chocolate pieces, or toasted nuts if you prefer. My favourite variation has been a milk chocolate and pistachio brownie, so once you’ve perfected the original, have fun with creating your own!

IMG_1904

Rebekah’s Chocolate Brownie

175g butter, coarsely chopped
175g dark chocolate, coarsely chopped
1 1/2 c caster sugar
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 c plain flour
2 T cocoa powder
1/2 c chocolate chips
Icing sugar, to dust

Preheat oven to fan bake 160degC. Line a 17cm x 27cm baking dish with baking paper.

Melt butter and chocolate together, either in 30-second bursts in the microwave, or in a bowl over a pot of simmering water. Whisk until smooth, then stir in sugar and eggs.

Sift flour and cocoa powder together, then stir into the chocolate mixture; add the chocolate chips.

Pour into the prepared dish and bake for one hour, or until an inserted skewer comes out moist but clean.

Cool the brownie in the tin, then remove and cut into squares. Dust with icing sugar before serving.

~~~~~~~~~
Recipe: from my friend Rebekah; original source unknown

~~~~~~~~~
Fun with Food

Fun with Food is a way for you to share your foodie (mis)adventures with other people. You don’t have to be a superb cook, or produce Masterchef-quality plates of food; this will be a place to share new and favourite recipes, meal plans, cooking on a budget, lunchbox ideas, new products, kitchen successes and disasters (because we all have those!) and maybe some handy tips for getting fussy kids to eat their dinner!

The linky will open on a Tuesday and stay open for a week, so I hope you’ll share your kitchen adventures, and be inspired by what other people are doing in the heart of their homes.

(By clicking on the button below, you’ll be taken to an external page, where you can enter your link and see who else is linking up. Please take the time to visit them, too!)

Fun with Food

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

2 thoughts on “Fun with Food: Rebekah’s Chocolate Brownie

  1. Pingback: The Sisterhood: Ninja Bake 2013 | Tall, Short, Tiny & a Pickle

Leave a Reply

