Back to School

At dinner time tonight, I asked my biggest what he was most looking forward to about going back to school tomorrow.

“I’m most looking forward to seeing my new teacher and learning lots of new things from her,” he said.

Not a bad response from a kid who is a few months shy of six. He’s a bit of a sponge, my biggest, with a real love of learning that I hope never leaves him. I’m sure he’ll be a reluctant, grunting teenage boy at some point, but I hope he retains this thirst for knowledge, even if he has to hide it from his pimply teenage friends.

The summer holidays have been mostly brilliant, with very few moments where I’ve had to referee feral behaviour. We’ve been astounded by the way our boys have spent nearly every waking moment together and it seems to have strengthened their bond; when the littlest started back at kindy a week or so ago, his big brother kept calling down the stairs to me: “Is it time for kindy pick-up yet?”

It’s going to be pretty quiet around here tomorrow morning…I don’t know if I’m looking forward to some time to myself, or whether I’ll actually miss my wee buddies a little bit.

I suspect it might be a combination of the two.

NYE15

Leave a Reply

