Elf on the Shelf 2015

It’s the first of December, which means that the Christmas fun is officially allowed to begin. I put up the tree on November 30th and let the boys loose decorating it * ; Tall was horrified to find that we’d broken the rules and put it up before it was even December. The horror!

Christmas Tree 2015

The way I see it, December 1st is exciting enough as it is.

The boys get to open the first doors on the chocolate advent calendars Grandma likes to buy them each year, plus this year they’ll have the added fun of a Lego advent calendar too. Last year, I made my own, but this year, I’ve gone for the easy option of one already sorted.

Elf on the Shelf 2015

There’s also the return of Fernando, our delightful elf who models excellent behaviour for my impressionable young souls. For the past few years, I’ve kept his shenanigans very calm and tame, mainly because I’m trying to encourage goodness in my own kidlets. However, I think this year I might throw in a couple of slightly cheeky (not naughty) moves, just for giggles. Both boys would appreciate that now, without thinking too much about it.

I’m also really hoping Fernando will help curb the beastly habits they’ve both picked up involving fingers and noses…

* I even resisted the urge to do any rearranging or discarding of random decorations; they did a really great job! There are a couple of “clusters” (as per the image above), but not many!

Leave a Reply

