Why I Write

Today I’m joining in with the Why I Write blog hop. I was nominated by Kelly from My Lucky Stars; Kelly writes about her adventures as a mum of two (her son has one of the best. names. ever), and the ways she organises her week-in-blogging makes me swoon! She also has the cutest bio-pic. You can read her post on why she writes here.

TypewriterWhat Am I Working On?
At the moment…not much. I’m busy with real-life stuff that is taking up a lot of time (outside of my main role of Parent), so the vague plans I have for this space have been shoved aside for now. Not a very inspiring answer, but it’s the truth. I’m always trying to figure out how to make this space better…I think it’ll always be a work in progress, and that’s the way I like it.

How Does My Writing Differ From Others In My Genre?
I don’t even know what my genre is…and maybe that’s my point of difference? I write about things I love, and things I know, but I don’t know that this little space can be pigeonholed as anything, really. I like to think that I write the way I speak, and that my opinions, thoughts and feelings are what makes my writing different. It probably says something that my most popular posts of all time are the ones about food (especially the post where I made the world’s ugliest brownie), but I wouldn’t call myself a food blogger, and maybe that makes me different too? Meh, I have no idea.

Why Do I Write What I Do?
First and foremost, I started this as a space to call my own – it was my outlet that was separate from my life as a mum. I started writing about anything that popped into my head, but slowly things have evolved to focus more on the things I am most passionate about: my family, travelling, food, reading and yoga. I write for myself, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t write with an audience in mind. I write about my family, because they are the most important things in my life. I write about travelling, because seeing the world has changed me in so many ways. I write about food, because I wake in the morning and think about food until I go to bed at night. I write about reading, because through books, I visit so many different worlds and experiences. I write about yoga, because it keeps me sane.

How Does My Writing Process Work?

I have a notebook which, if I’m honest, has been neglected for most of this year; it is full of ideas for blog posts that may or may not come to fruition. Generally, I grab a moment when the boys are playing nicely together, or are fast asleep in bed, and get something drafted. I usually edit a post a few times before I hit publish or schedule; I’m a bit of a perfectionist, and I know I have a tendency to waffle, and can be quite ruthless with culling my words (ha, not that you can always tell!). I used to spend time every day scheduling or drafting posts, but as my boys grow and their needs change, so too has my ability/desire/need to be in this space so regularly.

Who’s Up Next?
I’m fairly certain this loveliest-of-lovelies doesn’t need much of an introduction – y’all will have met Angela from Striking Keys before, right? I adored her blog from the moment I discovered it, and now…I get to adore her, too. We hang out, our kids dig each other, and she made my blog look pretty. I love her writing style. I love that she calls a spade a spade but never offends. And I love that she peppers her blog with photos of her delicious babes. Just don’t hold me responsible for the time you’ll spend trawling through every single post she’s ever written.

3 thoughts on “Why I Write

  1. Lovely to hear some of the reasons and thoughts behind your blogging process – pretty similar to mine actually! I’m very jelly that my 2 fav Ange’s get to hang out together in person so much….one day I’m gonna gatecrash ya know!

Leave a Reply

