Meal Planning

This week’s menu is a real mixture of family favourites and new recipes. I’m still enjoying flicking through different cookbooks and selecting a few to try each week, while trying to keep our food bill down. It was interesting watching Jamie Oliver’s new show, Save with Jamie, over the weekend – a reminder at how expensive fresh fruit and vegetables are here in New Zealand. As my boys get bigger and hungrier, I can see that our eating habits will change, and I’ll have to get over my snobbish views on frozen vegetables!

Fish Wraps.jpgSunday: fish wraps with mango salsa – a Chelsea Winter recipe that is fresh, inexpensive and delicious. My boys won’t eat the salsa because it has tomatoes in it, but they hoover up wraps and the fish like it’s their last meal on earth!
Monday: lasagna – a perennial favourite.
Tuesday: chipotle pork tortillas with apple slaw – I’m looking forward to trying this one! Wish I could remember where it’s from, though…
Wednesday: pea and ham soup with bread – from At My Table.
Thursday: chicken enchiladas – one of Tiny’s favourites, and super-easy (I cheat by using a jar of enchilada sauce, which makes this a quick weeknight dinner before yoga).
Friday: leftover soup
Saturday: Mid-to-Late-Winter Christmas Dinner – a catch-up with some cricketing friends and partners.

 

Leave a Reply

