Menu Planning: a week of favourites

For this week’s meals, I’m going back to basics, making dishes we’ve enjoyed a thousand times* before. Mostly because the weekend has been busy and I didn’t have the luxury of spending an hour looking through new recipes, but also because it was an expensive weekend and I needed to pare back a little this week.

Sunday: leftover pizza for the boys, as I was out with a friend – adding a few boiled spuds to the plates ensured my littlest ones had plenty to fill their wee tummies.

Monday: meatloaf, boiled potatoes and coleslaw – always well-received.

Tuesday: wontons with fried rice – to reduce the fat-factor, I’ll bake the wonton pastry in muffin pans until they form crispy little shells, and fill with the cooked pork-and-veg mixture.

Wednesday: Kashmiri chicken curry – my littlest ones go nuts for this dish, and it’s a super-easy budget meal.

Thursday: chicken and vegetable soup – throw it all in and hope for the best (gorgeous Angela and lovely Belinda, plus assorted children, joined us for lunch last week and everyone ate loads of this soup, so I’m hoping to replicate the flavour if I can!).

Friday: leftover soup for the boys, while I go out with friends again.

Saturday: leek and brie tart – there’s a chance the weenies won’t like this, so I may make it date-night-in, and make them something like pasta and pesto, which they always love.

*possibly not an exact figure. Close to, though. Close to.

Everything from last week’s meal plan was very successful, with poor Tall having two little gannets demanding he share his beef stir-fry when he got home late!

~~~~~~~~~
Don’t forget to enter my childrens’ book giveaway!

3 thoughts on “Menu Planning: a week of favourites

Leave a Reply

