Reading and Reviewing

I just finished reading All Quiet on the Western Front, by Erich Maria Remarque, and wow, what a profound book. I didn’t expect it to have such an effect on me, but it has, and I’m still processing my thoughts. It was a sobering read, often humourous, but mostly thought-provoking and quite challenging.

Other recent reads:

Noughts and Crosses, by Malorie Blackman. This young adult dystopian fiction is number 61 on The Big Read, and even though this isn’t my usual genre, I was pleasantly surprised. The style was okay – it was definitely written with a much younger audience in mind – and it was an easy read; the concept was interesting and the ending was not at all what I expected (in a good way).

The Hound of the Baskervilles, by Arthur Conan Doyle. This was my first reading of Sherlock Holmes, and it was very enjoyable, if a little predictable. The story was clever, and I liked how the culmination of the story (ie: the solving of the mystery) was left until there were very few pages left. I found myself reading faster and faster with the knowledge that the famous detective had to tie everything together in so little time, and this sudden excitement made for an enjoyable end.

My review of House of Leaves has been published here, along with my thoughts on The Forsyte Saga.

Leave a Reply

