Reading and Reviewing

I don’t make resolutions, but I do like to set myself goals for the year ahead. One of my goals for 2014 is to finally finish my BBC Top 200 challenge. At last count, I have just 34 books to go, and I think that’s perfectly doable in a 52-week period. I might just have to say a firm “No!” when someone suggests I read something off-liste (didya see what I did there??).

Currently reading:
The Master and Magarita (Mikhail Bulgakov), which is proving to be a surprisingly intriguing and enjoyable read so far. It’s a bit crazy, and a bit whimsical, but I like a bit of crazy whimsy, so it’s good.

Previously read:
Under the Tuscan Sun (Frances Mayes), which started off so well, and was really enjoyable…until the final few chapters where I got bored, and then confused, and then over it.

Gone Girl (Gillian Flynn), which I hoovered over our four-day holiday in Central Otago. It was so clever, well-written and intriguing, although I was slightly disappointed with the ending. Curiously, this was my Christmas gift as part of Advent Swap 2013, and when I checked my list of “Must Seek Out” books, this was on there. Whoop!

The Princess Bride (William Goldman) which was, for the most part, a lovely, beautiful story. I loved the movie (which was very true to the story), and was able to picture and predict many of the scenes, which only served to enhance my enjoyment of it. The only part I didn’t like were the “interjections”, which were irritating and in my mind, superfluous to the story. It was a great story to get lost in while sitting beside Pickle’s cot, waiting patiently for him to succumb to sleep after weaning.

The Name of the Rose (Umberto Eco), which I nicknamed The Book of Snore. Seriously, it was so boring and unenjoyable that I shelved it for a few days before deciding to plow on through so I could review it for 1001 Books to Read Before You Die. Otherwise….it would have been gently recycled.

7 thoughts on “Reading and Reviewing

  1. Pingback: Reading and Reviewing | Tall, Short, Tiny & a Pickle

  2. Pingback: Reading and Reviewing: a BBC Top 200 update | Tall, Short, Tiny & a Pickle

  3. Pingback: Reading and Reviewing | Tall, Short, Tiny & a Pickle

  4. Pingback: Oh hi, 2015 | Tall, Short, Tiny & a Pickle

Leave a Reply

