Nuts for Nuts: National Nut Day 2013

Pistachios. If someone told me I had to choose one nut to eat for the rest of my life, I would choose pistachios.

However, if someone else came along and said, “Actually…we’re all out of pistachios…you’ll have to choose something else”, I’d have absolutely no qualms about choosing cashews instead.

Mother Earth NutsRaw, straight from the shell, roasted, dry roasted, salted, honey-roasted…I’ll eat ’em any way you offer ’em. So when Mother Earth sent me some of their Barbecue Cashews to try, I couldn’t wait to try them…and five minutes later, the bag was empty. I did have some help, in the form of a three-and-half-year-old grub, which was a huge surprise as he has never been a fan of nuts before. The flavour was smoky and tangy, but not overpowering or sickly (obviously, as I inhaled  three-quarters of the bag) and I liked that they still tasted like cashews.

Mother Earth Barbecue CashewsI was also sent the Heart Vitality mix. Um – nuts and dark chocolate? Yes please! These were a delicious combination of nibbly bits, and were very moreish. And the best thing is – they are good for you. We all know that dark chocolate is good for our hearts, but nuts have had a bit of a bad reputation until recently.

Today, National Nut Day, is about celebrating the humble nut. About recognising its place in a healthy, balanced diet, and appreciating it in all its tasty goodness.

A number of years ago, I took part in a University of Otago study looking into the effects of nut consumption (30g daily) on an individual’s weight, and the results were surprising. This same study also found that lightly roasted and lightly salted nuts were as beneficial, nutritionally, as raw nuts – a big plus for those people who prefer their nuts a little seasoned! One of the long-lasting things I learned from this study is that eating 30g of ground almonds is not a pleasant experience: dry, they try and choke you; sprinkled on cereal, they become soggy sawdust (nutdust?). Ugh.

For further information regarding the health benefits of eating nuts, visit Alison’s Pantry or Mother Earth.

These nuts were provided to me for the purpose of this review (and to promote National Nut Day), but the opinions expressed here are my own.

~~~~~~~~~
Fun with Food

Please copy and paste the button below and include it in your foodie post!
By clicking on the link below, you’ll be taken to an external page, where you can enter your link and see who else is linking up. Please take the time to visit them, too!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

6 thoughts on “Nuts for Nuts: National Nut Day 2013

  1. I am with you on the preferences. Except when I’m recently had a bad pistachio (not looking will do that…gar!), then cashews take top slot until my memory fades. Or if I’ve overeaten pistachios. Both can promote cashews. I can vouch for her testimony on the Deluxe Mix (for heart) — some generous human gifted me a pack of these (can you believe that?!) and they taste best when you are very very hungry (not with a meal, as much) — you know, on the run, say. THANK YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

