Cake for a Cat

image  On Sunday afternoon, Tiny asked if we could bake a cake.

“Absolutely!” I replied. I love cake.

“For Cat’s birthday!” he called from halfway up the stairs.

The crocheted soft cat I brought back from Valparaiso when I was pregnant with him. The cat that sits on his bed before being tossed during the night. Oh.

Any excuse for cake, right?

I wanted to bake a cake that would be easy for him to help me with, so chose the One-Egg Chocolate Cake recipe I’ve been using since I was 11-years-old.

image

Except…Tiny chose to play with his toys and leave me to do all the hard work. Sigh.

When the cake had cooled and been iced with a frosting-that-almost-failed, he did help me decorate it with (a few too many) sprinkles, and nine of the candy-coloured Trade Aid candles I was sent by lovely Miriam.

Cat, Teddy & Jelly

We sat at the dining table with Cat, Teddy, Jelly and Pickle. We sang “Happy Birthday” over and over, and blew out the candles at least eight times. Pickle thought it was hilarious; Tiny thought it was the best party ever.

image

The cake was pretty tasty too.

~~~~~~~~~
Fun with Food

Please copy and paste the button below and include it in your foodie post!
By clicking on the link below, you’ll be taken to an external page, where you can enter your link and see who else is linking up. Please take the time to visit them, too!


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

~~~~~~~~~
AND linking in with Miriam for BMWB 🙂

BMWB

5 thoughts on “Cake for a Cat

    • What can I say? I truly love cake 😉 Also – the candles? The colours remind me of naturally-coloured sweets. Which is awesome xx

  1. Hmm, I think we should try this one. We’ve had plenty of playdough cakes with (now almost destroyed) ex-birthday party candles (if you’ve ever watched a bunch of preschoolers with candles and playdough, well, they can sing happy birthday for hours!). But we haven’t had REAL cake. I for one would like to be able to EAT after having to do so much singing. Grin. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

