Fun with Food: Old Favourites

I’m pretty sure that every cook has their favourite meals. You know, the ones that you make without a recipe, that are slightly different – but always delicious – each time. The meals that your family look forward to, scoff seconds of, hope for leftovers from.

IMG_2850Here, three such meals are macaroni cheese, lasagne, and Vegetable Pastry Squares.

Macaroni cheese is my ultimate easy, cheap dinner; I know Tiny will eat it, and I know Tall loves it. I love it too, despite my dairy-intolerant tummy’s protests. Sometimes I keep it simple, with just onion, bacon and dijon mustard added to the cheesey sauce, and other times I make this divine pumpkin and feta version. Regardless of what’s in the sauce, it is always eaten with buttered white bread…I knew Tall and I were meant to be when he made himself a macaroni cheese sandwich.

Good old beef lasagne is the favourite around here (although chicken versions and Roasted Vegetable Lasagna are also tasty), and I’ll go so far as to say I make an exceptional lasagna.

IMG_2845I start by sauteeing finely chopped vegetables (onion, mushrooms, zucchini, carrot, garlic), then add the mince and break it up, until mostly cooked. Then it’s in with my not-so-secret ingredients – lots of tomato paste (puree for my English readers, a lesson I learned in our early months living in the UK!) and a crumbled beef stock cube. Tomatoes (tinned or fresh), oregano, salt and pepper…then simmer simmer simmer for as long as possible. Day Two Lasagna is always better than fresh, so I make double what we need for one meal, and if I’m really on to it, I make the ragu the day before.

I’ve already waxed lyrical about the Vegetable Pastry Squares here; so good for using up sad leftover veges, or for when you want a big vegetable hit but don’t want a stirfry.

Vege Pastry SquaresWhat meals are your family’s favourites?

Any meals you make into a sandwich that other people might think strange?? Any leftovers from this Slow-Cooked Pork with Apple Gravy make the best sandwiches…

~~~~~~~~~
Fun with Food
Fun with Food is a way for you to share your foodie (mis)adventures with other people. You don’t have to be a superb cook, or produce Masterchef-quality plates of food; this will be a place to share new and favourite recipes, meal plans, cooking on a budget, lunchbox ideas, new products, kitchen successes and disasters (because we all have those!) and maybe some handy tips for getting fussy kids to eat their dinner!

The linky will open on a Tuesday and stay open for a week, so I hope you’ll share your kitchen adventures, and be inspired by what other people are doing in the heart of their homes.

(By clicking on the link below, you’ll be taken to an external page, where you can enter your link and see who else is linking up. Please take the time to visit them, too!)


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

4 thoughts on “Fun with Food: Old Favourites

  1. OK so you got me at macaroni cheese sandwiches
    LOL oh Ange all I can think is carb overload
    But that vegetable pastry square looks and sounds amazing

  2. Pingback: Fun with Food: Cheap-As Tuesdays | Tall, Short & Tiny

  3. Pingback: Meal Planning | Tall, Short, Tiny & a Pickle

Leave a Reply

