This Bittersweet Week

I didn’t know whether or not I wanted to write this post today. I’ve written and trashed it twice already, each time wondering if it’s insensitive to wax lyrical about my really good week, all the while knowing that someone I know is in pain.

This morning I found out that a friend I once worked with, partied with, lived with, has cancer, which has spread despite some pretty aggressive treatment. She’s in her early-thirties, with a promising career and a smart, smart mind. I am devastated and angry for her, and heartbroken for her husband and her two young children. It’s unfair and horrendous and all kinds of awful that I just can’t put into words.

It has, however, reminded me of the fragility of life. Of the need to be in each moment, to be present with our families and friends, to stop, take a breath and actually see the world around us. To cherish the small things that make each day better than the last, to see the positive in every situation. To live, so these memories and moments give us strength when we need it most.

This week has been good. We’ve spent time with friends, visiting new homes, chatting, laughing, playing. I’ve watched a new little friendship grow, bonding over bananas by the beach, while an old friendship has continued to strengthen in the way that only a thirty-year relationship can.

IMG_2906

I’ve watched herbs begin to sprout from seeds planted eagerly by two novice gardeners with little knowledge but a lot of enthusiasm, and witnessed the subtle change of tomatoes from dusky green to burnt orange to russet red.

IMG_2098IMG_2097

We’ve been to a birthday party, spent a fair portion of every day outside, and relished in the news of a new baby a-brewin’. I’ve enjoyed a quiet afternoon with a sleeping baby, while my parents took a happy little boy to the beach to build sand castles and jump in the waves. We’ve barbecued and been barefoot; I’ve dusted (it took me three days. Before you begin to imagine that we live in a mansion, let me stop you. Our house isn’t that big…I simply hate dusting), and sorted baby clothes and washed everything imaginable to make good use of the hot hot days. I took the boys to watch their daddy play cricket, and surprised myself by actually enjoying it.

It has been a good week. It has been a good week.

~~~~~~~~~
Linking up with lovely Meghan

Lovingand lovely Elizabeth

Sunday Snippets

8 thoughts on “This Bittersweet Week

  1. Sorry to hear about your friend. I lost one of my closest friends a year and a half ago to cancer. It was a tough 5 year battle, but an honour to walk beside her throughout. It is always bittersweet spending time with her husband, but mostly her 3 young children who I continue to see regularly, taking her girls shopping and giving all three lots of big hugs. Tough times, but certainly a reminder to appreciate the here and now. Cx

  2. Bless ya love – it’s so sad when those around us are going through really tough times and it hardly seems fair for us to even contemplate enjoying life at the same time. But I think your perspective is right – we must make the most of the moments – it really is the memories and the moments that get us through the tough times xx

  3. Oh my goodness, I’m so sorry about your friend. But I love that it allowed you to recognize the fragility of life. I’ve been trying to remind myself of those things on a daily basis as I deal with some rough times myself.

    Love to you and your sweet family!

  4. I think we really need to find the good in the days so that we are then filled to give out to those who so desperately need us to be bright in their day…so sorry to hear of your friends sadness. Hope you have a week full of beautiful things. xxx

  5. Sorry I never got in here last week…

    So sorry to hear about you friend – big hugs coming your way. It is so difficult to know what to do or say, or even how to express ourselves appropriately when facing a friend who is seriously struggling. Especially when we have everything they want… a friend of mine lost her hubby just over a year ago to cancer, she is now a solo-mum to two little boys (3 and 5); I just can’t even imagine it.

    Thanks again for linking in – I truly appreciate it! I have scheduled a post to link in with you tomorrow – yay :-)!

Leave a Reply

