Christmas Cracker Swap

Last month, Katie over at Mummy Adventures put out the feelers to see if anyone was interested in taking part in a Christmas Cracker swap.

Now, I see swaps all over the place and always wistfully decide not to join in because I’m not as creative and crafty as everyone else, and don’t like the idea of letting a swap partner down with an inadequate swap. However, the idea of a cracker was so appealing, and there was no requirement of me to sew/crochet/stitch/knit/macrame anything, which was the best part.

My swap partner was the lovely Widge; Katie matched us together randomly, but it’s been quite funny learning that we have a lot in common (non-existant earlobes, a love of all colours, a need for coffee in the morning…). And it’s always nice to “meet” someone whose blog you already think is the bee’s knees.

I suggested Widge open the cracker I sent immediately, as one of the gifts I sent would be better enjoyed sooner rather than later. And because I love presents I’m impatient we’re heading to The Farm on Sunday and want to pack as light as possible, I decided it would be best to open mine immediately too.

I was thoroughly blown away by the two – yes, two! – crackers Widge sent me. Loved the personalised cracker, and the obvious thought that went into absolutely everything inside.

Cracker2 Cracker3

Thank you for spoiling me and making my first swap so much fun xx

Here is the cracker I sent:

Cracker1

Larger than usual, due to needing to accommodate some of my favourite coffee beans from the best coffee shop in Dunedin; I split a cardboard roll in half, and fashioned it in to one big fat cracker. Tiny helped me decorate it…his gluing skills leave a bit to be desired, but I’m hoping most of the stars were still attached by the time it arrived.

~~~~~~~~~
Check out what other people gave and received

Christmas Cracker Swap Button

4 thoughts on “Christmas Cracker Swap

  1. Awesome crackers – the ones Widge sent you and your one for her! The best thing about organising this swap is seeing what everyone has made and sent! Thanks for joining in 🙂

Leave a Reply

