‘P’ is for Pinterest Puddings

Today’s post is brought to you by the letter ‘P’. ‘P’ for pudding, and ‘P’ for Pinterest.

I’ve been waiting what seems like forever for our rhubarb crop to be big enough to try this Caramel Crusted Rhubarb Pudding, and when my lovely husband came inside bearing a few handfuls of ruby-red stalks over the weekend, I was elated.

This is a nice twist on an ordinary rhubarb crumble, although it is rather sweet. We enjoyed it more on the second day; the rhubarb was more stewed and the sweetness had dispersed through it, rather than just sitting on top.

I also found the 30 minutes cooking time not enough; some of the rhubarb was still hard, and the crumble topping a bit soggy. However, a further 20 minutes in the oven the following day, and it was perfect. This problem could be avoided by using a larger dish (something that you’d cook a family-size lasagna in), and therefore decreasing the depth of both the rhubarb and the crumble topping.

Rhubarb – Crumble – Sugar – Caramel

We also have some apples awaiting their fate as these Apple Ice Creams with Caramel Sauce. I liked another reader’s suggestion of baking the apples with cinnamon and sugar, so will be dusting the hollowed-out fruit with a liberal coating of such a mixture.

And the discarded flesh will be useful in making these delicious Apple Cinnamon Muffins with Crumble Topping, or for stewing in preparation for the time we start solids (even though we’ll be doing baby-led weaning again, a bit of stewed fruit won’t get wasted!). There’s something rather fulfilling in knowing that I’ll be using the whole fruit instead of binning it.

(Can you tell that I’m starting to add a bit of dairy back into my diet?? So far, the small amounts I’ve tried haven’t bothered Pickle, so I’m hoping to continue with a little bit here and there from now on.)

~~~~~~~~~
Have you entered my giveaway? It’s open internationally!

One thought on “‘P’ is for Pinterest Puddings

  1. I’m in LOVE with rhubarb and am patiently waiting for the school kids to come visit our garden and then I can pick and cook our rhubarb – nom nom nom

Leave a Reply

