Random Thoughts…

~ Living close to the beach is great, but looking up to see snow on the hills while we have squally sleet showers is just cruel.

~ The brighter the icing, the more like a party afternoon tea seems to be.

~ Crumbs in the margarine give me the heebie-jeebies. Seriously. They make my stomach churn a little bit. If you come and stay at my house, after you’ve gone I will scoop out any crumbs you might have left in my spreads. My own crumbs, and Tall’s crumbs are tolerable, but foreign crumbs…no thanks.

~ I need to start looking into my diet and eliminating things which might be contributing to Pickle’s wind and vomiting….but for the last two weeks, I’ve forgotten and planned our week’s meals without a second thought. Next week, I’ll be back to a dairy-free me. Remind me!!

~ While he looks just like his Daddy, my genes still run strong in Tiny. He has a penchant for John Irving novels, and loves to wear my shoes. Last week, he came into the lounge holding my wedding shoes and another pair of sparkly stilettos, and announced, “These shoes are pretty!” (the scary thing is, is that by the time he’s 8, his feet will no doubt be bigger than mine.)

~ When Tiny was 10 weeks old, he had surgery (under general anaesthetic) for an inguinal hernia in his groin. Pickle is almost 12 weeks old and still seems so little, so it astounds me that Tiny went through that when even smaller. And there are so many babies who go through much, much more when much, much smaller, and it breaks my heart.

~ There’s nothing quite like the smell of something simmering away in the slow cooker, is there? Today, our house is filled with the aroma of lamb shanks bathing in a hot spa of red wine, garlic and rosemary, and even better, I don’t have to do anything other than cook and mash some spuds at dinnertime.

~ Pretty notebooks make list-writing so much more fun. I’m such a sucker for purdy stationery.

3 thoughts on “Random Thoughts…

  1. Eee, I’m a major crumb spreader!! I even contaminate the vegemite with marg. You’ll hate me for sure. (but i agree, can’t stand other peoples contaminations either)

    Bummer about the dairy – how long had you been diary free previously? You think it helped? or just going to have a go?

    xx

Leave a Reply

