Rocket Pesto

Would you believe that pesto is something I’ve made just a handful of times? Quite frankly, I’m astonished and more than a little ashamed of myself – we always have pesto in our fridge, yet up until now, I’ve been too lazy.

Which is ridiculous, really, given how simple it is to make.

This version is so easy, and a nice variation on the usual basil variety. I had a bag of rocket in the fridge which I’d forgotten about, and as its best before date was two days ago, I decided I’d better do something with it. That something…was rocket pesto.

Rocket Pesto – makes approx. 1 cup

3/4 bag of pre-washed rocket
1/2c freshly grated parmesan cheese
1/4c walnut pieces
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1/4c olive oil
salt & freshly ground black pepper

Place all ingredients in a food processor and blitz until desired texture is reached.

Store in the fridge for up to two weeks.

* Use more or less olive oil, depending on your preferences, but I found 1/4c was about right.

* I like my pesto quite chunky and rustic, which is a good thing considering my crappy food processor doesn’t do a very good job of fine chopping.

* Add fresh herbs such as flat-leaf parsley or mint to add a bit of extra flavour.

* Tastes great stirred into cooked pasta with some roasted pumpkin and extra parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

