Blogs I’m Loving

What is it about someone else’s blog that makes you go back for more? Is it their catchy name and quirky writing style, or their amazing photography skills? Perhaps it’s the delicious-sounding recipes they share, or their creative talents? Or maybe it’s their honest, insightful posts that reach you at the best possible moment?

Whatever it is, we all have blogs we love to visit on a daily basis; blogs that have struck a chord and grabbed our attention more than once, requesting our attendance at each new post.

There are lots of blogs I like to read when their post title grabs me as I’m skimming through the Kiwi Mummy Blogs website, but I’m a bit more selective about the ones I follow (either via Google Reader, Facebook, or email notification). This is mostly because I don’t have the time to read every single post on every single blog I even remotely like, and partly because I’m a bit OCD about clearing my email inbox!

I try and visit and comment on every blog if someone new comments on one of my posts – that’s only fair and polite, right? And I try and visit every blog who has joined a linky before me, and leave a comment, even if I’ve never visited before. I think that’s the purpose of joining a linky, but correct me if I’m wrong! I know that for some people, blogging is a profession and I don’t expect a personal reply, but it is nice to know your comment has been read and appreciated, which is why I think it’s important to repay the favour.

Today, I’m going to share with you some of my NZ favourites. I think these blogs (and their bloggers) are pretty awesome; no doubt you’ll have stumbled upon them at some point already, but if you haven’t, go and give them some love!

~MNMs~
I love the way Meghan writes; she has an eloquent, evocative style that really draws me in. I love her brilliant photography (seriously, the girl has talent!), her obvious smitten-ness (yes, I just made up a word, so what?) with her boys, her generous heart, and her commitment to getting out and exploring and enjoying her little slice of New Zealand.

~Create Hope Inspire~
Miriam’s posts about her wardrobe are addictive – I love seeing what she’s come up with week-to-week, and am always astounded that she’s still rocking clothes from 15 years ago. Her Becoming the Mama I Want to Be posts are inspiring, and she’s got more creative talent in her little finger than I possess in my entire being. She’s another wonderfully generous mama to two very cool dudes, and she’s the first to offer words of encouragement to anyone.

~Sophie Slim~
Not only do I adore seeing photos of Sophie’s adorable little daughter, but I enjoy seeing what awesome things she’s been crocheting lately (I can’t wait to see her latest blanket finished!), and reading about all the amazing, generous things this young woman has been doing. You’ve possibly been living under a rock (in New Zealand, anyway) if you don’t know that she’s the mastermind behind The Sisterhood, a project that started as a simple idea and has snowballed into something even more fantastic than anyone dreamed.

~Catching the Magic~
I love visiting Sarah’s blog to see photos of her three cutie-cutie daughters, read her poetry and admire her lyrical prowess. She writes with an honesty that is sometimes missing from other blogs, and I admire her greatly for that.

~To Find a Silver Lining~
Elizabeth is another blogger whose honesty in her beautiful, insightful writing really captures my attention – not to mention the regular updates on Button and ‘Lil M, who are pretty darn cute! She’s written some pretty thought provoking stuff, and I feel a special affinity with her as our babies are very similar in age. By her own admission, Elizabeth isn’t a crafty type, and I find this refreshing in a world seemingly filled with super-creative types – she makes those of us who aren’t feel normal!

~1001 Books to Read Before You Die~
I love books. This blog is about books. ‘Nuff said.

What are your favourite blogs to visit? Recommend them to me, and I’ll be sure to pop on over and say hi!

~~~~~~~~~
Linking up with beautiful Meghan for

5 thoughts on “Blogs I’m Loving

  1. Thanks Ange! šŸ™‚ Too kind! What an honour to be included with these wonderful ladies!!

    I haven’t been to catching the magic – opening the link now! Thanks! šŸ˜€

    x

  2. Thanks Ange those are such generous things you have written about me. I love that there is such a positive and encouraging vibe amongst bloggers. I am like you I try to return the favour by visiting and commenting if someone has been to my blog.
    Who would I recommend? Are you familiar with Max at Blackbird Has Spoken? Her dolls house do-over is pretty amazing.
    Also Deb at Works in Progress is a beautifully honest and creative blogger.
    So many, so many it is impossible to keep up! I’m glad you enjoy my WW posts I sometimes wonder if other people like looking at clothes as much as I do
    Bog love beautiful lady xxx

  3. Awwww – thank you lovely lady!

    I also feel that affinity, and love hearing what your boys are up to… you never have enough photos of them though *grin*! I want more!

    I love how you do different things on different days (and are still managing to keep this up, despite the newest addition, you make me look bad – hehehe)! I don’t get to read everything, but I follow your blog VERY closely!

  4. Aww, shucks love, what a lovely compliment. Yours is also one of my favourite blogs to read and am always excited when I see a new post come up. I love your travel posts (you’ve sure made me want to visit a few new places in the world!), your Journey to 35 posts and your life in general posts. Your ability to recall with great detail your travels from years ago is amazing and stories like how Tiny came into the world. I sure hope we get to meet in person one day šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

