Things I’m Loving: 200th Post Giveaway!

Loving short weeks which follow long weekends which means it’s Friday already! Hurrah!

Loving the distraction a money box can bring for a poorly two-year-old, and the subsequent counting of the coins into Mummy’s hand (in English, and Spanish, no less….oops, someone’s been watching too much Dora!!).

“…10, 11, 12, 18, 18, 18…”

Loving cold days stuck inside that have resulted in some fun crafting creations.

Socktopuses

(original idea pinned here)

‘Little Kiwi’ t-shirt & button koru to send to a friend overseas

Loving that the horrid drop-everywhere leaves from our cabbage tree make awesome bundles of kindling for the fire.

Bundles of heat

Loving that this is my 200th post! And no significant-number-of-posts celebration would be complete without a little giveaway, would it??

This one combines three of my favourite things: books, cooking, and children. I have one copy of the gorgeously-illustrated ‘Time for Bed Little Kiwi’ (a beautiful lift-the-flap story featuring New Zealand’s native flora and fauna), and one copy of ‘Great Recipes Kids Can Cook’ (including recipes such as sausage rolls, fish bites, banana pancakes and “eggs in a nest”) to giveaway!

Time for Bed Little Kiwi

To enter, all you need to do is leave a comment on this post, telling me which book you’d like to win, and either:

name your favourite native New Zealand bird or animal, or a favourite dish of yours that you wish (or hope, if you’re not at that stage yet!) your children would eat.

Great Recipes Kids Can Cook

~~~~~~~~~

* If you’d like the chance to win either of them, one comment with both answers is fine!
* Giveaway open internationally.
* Entries will close at 5pm (NZ time), Friday 15th June.
* The two winners will be drawn randomly from a hat by my little helper 🙂

~~~~~~~~~
Linking up with the lovely Meghan of MNMs

AND with writer-extraordinaire Simone of Greatfun4kids

13 thoughts on “Things I’m Loving: 200th Post Giveaway!

  1. Hi! Congrats on 200 posts! I would love either book and my favouriite NZ bird would be the keruru (wood pigeon) or piwaiwaka (fantail) because it seems so happy and I love it’s Maori name!

  2. Those octopuses are so cute! I’m going to have to make myself and the girls some of those 🙂 hee, hee!

    Sorry to hear your two year old hasn’t been so well – my Alice has been full of cold too – but Dora is a welcome friend here too, hee, hee!

    That Koru is gorgeous too! Makes me feel like collecting buttons.

    And my fav bird is a fantail – as I’ve had some spiritual encounters with them after my Grandmother passes away and whenever my Mum (my Grandmother’s daughter) visits we’ve had other instances of a fantail appearing unexpectedly whenever we’ve been talking about my Grandmother. Just after she passed away I was sat at my computer by the window and one flew up to the window and hovered for ages by a crystal I have hanging there – I’ve never seen one in that place before – or since.

  3. Congratulations on reaching your 200th post! Here’s to many more 🙂
    I’d love a chance to win either of these great books. My favourite NZ bird is the fantail. Its just such a cheeky and social wee bird that you can’t help but love it can you?!

  4. 200 posts, well done to you. I would love the cook book as my 2 sons have seen this at the library and think it will make them master-chefs if they cook from it! Plain and simple cauliflower cheese would be the one dish I wish my family would eat as I crave this and miss not having it as none of them will eat it! maybe one day, I can just continue to live in hope.

  5. Wooohooo!! 200th post party! yahoo!

    Put me down for both? Haha. (*wink)

    I’m a peukeko girl. my Mama gets them all over her “farm” and they are lovely! Such beautiful colours!

    X

  6. Oh – exciting! I love your blog (wink, wink, nudge, nudge), so I am hoping there is at least another 200 posts to come ;-)!

    Put me down for both – I love the kiwi, fantail, pukeko… ahhh, so many birds really!

    Right now – I just wish my family weren’t full of allergies, looks like my wee man has a dairy allergy also; just like his sister! But you never know – there could be something in there I can make with Lydia… even if we wait until she is older and has outgrown the allergies (they are both meant to)!

  7. Go you for your 200 posts.,….here’s to 200 more! Loving the counting.,..too cute. I’d love to win either book, my favourite bird is the kaka (how could it not be when they are always around and about or even in the garden like they were the other week!). Hmmm a dish I’d love the kids to love is tough as they eat most things – but each have their own quirky tastebuds that we have to work around…love the look of this book…and getting them more involved.

    Happy weekend to you, hope you’re staying warm down there!! xx

  8. Congrats on your milestone….the books are great …..not being a kiwi but have always had a fascination for your very cute Kiwi bird. xxx

  9. 200 posts – congratulations! I have enjoyed being along for the ride in the short time that I have been here and look forward to many more. Would also like to thank you for the reviews you have submitted to 1001 Books Before You Die as well.

    I adore Tuis – lately there have been a few around my Mum’s place and my little one likes trying to imitate their chirpy sounds. And after looking them up on Wiki, I love them even more : )

    Pop us in the hat for Time for Bed Little Kiwi please!

  10. Congratulations on 200 posts! So hard to choose a favorite native bird but I think I would have to go with Kereru, we see alot of them traveling around and even more in our region lately, although you usually can hear them before you see them. I would love to go in the draw for the kiwi bird book.

  11. Yay for you! 200 posts is an awesome milestone! I would LOVE to win the Recipe Book, mainly because we are starting to cook regularly with the kids on the weekends and a kid-friendly recipe book would be SUPERB! As to which recipe i love that I hope they’d eat…? Well, I can always hope that they will eventually go mad for my spaghetti and meatballs, so i can put it back on the regular menu… but so far NOBODY has requested it (The kids take turns picking a meal each week for dinner; saves a lot of arguments)
    xx

Leave a Reply

