Decisions Decisions

My husband likes to tease me profusely (and lovingly) about my decision making skills….or lack thereof. He finds it immensely amusing to give me a number of options – or none at all – and watch me flounder in a sea of indecisiveness and confusion.

Want an example? I could give you a thousand, but I won’t. A couple will suffice.

* A common conversation heard around these parts:
“What shall we do this weekend?”
“Um….I’ll have a think.”
……………..
“Sooo, what are we doing this weekend?”
“Um, I’m not sure. What do you want to do?”

* A common occurrence when we’re travelling:
“Where do you want to eat?”
(Me, wailing) “I just don’t knooooooow!”
“Just choose somewhere. They all look about the same.”
“I know. I just…don’t know.”

Well, dear husband, no more! This month is going to be aaaaaall about snappy, profound, spur-of-the-moment decisions. Made by me.

Yeah, that’s right. Me. Mrs I’m-Not-Too-Bothered-Either-Way-What-Do-You-Think? ME.

I’m going to:

  1. make decisions based on what I want, not what other people want (or what I think they want);
  2. learn to say a simple “yes”: stop over-thinking and just start doing; and
  3. stop saying “I wish I could…”: I’m going to make things happen!

Starting right now, by deciding that we’re going out for a coffee tomorrow after the Farmers’ Market, whether you like it or not!

(If that’s okay with you, honey?)

4 thoughts on “Decisions Decisions

  1. HAhah brilliant, I love the very last line πŸ˜‰

    My husband thinks i’m bad at decisions too but really its the opposite. He’s so bad at them he leaves them all up to me, then he gets annoyed when I can’t make one! Silly. If he just came up with some ideas in the first place we wouldn’t be having this conversation! :p

    Enjoy your coffee tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  2. I’m.so.there.with.you – most of the time I really, really don’t mind so I try and work out what others want or let them make the decision… sometimes I can’t work out what I want…. other times I just want other people to decide because I have to make ALL the decisions during the day with the boys (well a lot of them)
    I love these themed months they are great! πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: Decisions | Tall, Short & Tiny

  4. Pingback: Journey to 35: Complete | Tall, Short & Tiny

Leave a Reply

