Lady and the Bump: 27w 3d

I make no secret of the fact that I don’t enjoy pregnancy. It seems that no sooner have I finished spending every waking moment hovering around the toilet bowl, the aches and cramps set in. However, I am well aware that there are many people unable to have children, and every day, I am so grateful to have been through this twice.

This week, I’m officially in the third trimester, and the countdown is on! There’s a part of me hoping that Pickle will come early like his big brother (because, yes, I am already over it), but a part of me is also hoping that he doesn’t, just so we have more time to prepare.

I am under no illusion that being parents to two children will be easy, but I have less of the apprehensions and feelings of uncertainty that I felt with Tiny. It helps that Tiny was a Reflux Baby; he would only fall asleep at the boob, and each feed took over an hour-and-a-half until he was almost six months old. If Pickle is also a Reflux Baby (more likely, apparently, but not a given), I feel as though we’re better equipped to deal with it, because we know what might work, and that we will get through it. He can’t be a worse sleeper than Tiny was, and if we need help, we won’t be fobbed off as anxious first-time parents this time round.

Pickle is still very busy, and I’ve noticed that he reacts to Tiny’s voice which makes my heart almost explode with joy. Like Tiny did, he will stop kicking/punching/practising his ninja moves the moment Tall places his large, always-warm hand on my belly, as though he can sense the increased pressure as different from my child-like, chilly paws.

Putting on my socks is already starting to be a struggle, and lacing up shoes is quickly becoming an aerobic activity. I’m very short in the torso, which means the only way to go is out…which means I look like I’ve shoved a basketball up my top. I carried Tiny in exactly the same way, and even though I feel huge now, I am well aware that I will stick out further and further over the next 13 weeks. Bye bye, feet!

27w 3d of bumpy goodness

~~~~~~~~~
Linking up with Simone over at greatfun4kids

10 thoughts on “Lady and the Bump: 27w 3d

  1. ❤ love!! Hehe, dont walk away suspicious looking from the sport dept. in Kmart – they might actually think you are smuggling!! 😉

    I hope it all turns around for you / or you find it easier to cope! 🙂

    • Thank you! You’re so right, and I have to keep reminding myself that this is all worth it, but I also don’t see the point in pretending that I love this part of the journey.

  2. I’m just about a week ahead of you [with my first, though] and it always amazes me that women have SUCH different experiences with pregnancy and childbirth. I am absolutely in LOVE with being pregnant – although I wasn’t saying that in the first trimester – and am relishing every moment of the little one hanging out inside… the whole thing amazes me!

    You look wonderful and I’m so excited for Tiny to have a little sidekick soon =)

    • Pregnancy is amazing, regardless of whether you enjoy it or not. I’m so glad you’re loving it – and the best part is, it gets better and better once the little one is actually here (okay, maybe not straight away, but once you’ve started to get the hang of things!).

  3. I think you look AMAZING – but as Sophie Slim says… very suspicious-looking in the sports dept of Kmart! hehehe
    I think number two is such an easier adjustment than baby number one. That shock is like nothing else. Yay for an expanding family – and waistline… very exciting!
    x

Leave a Reply

