Being Honest

Last month (I was typing this month, until I realised it is ALREADY February!!), I tried to concentrate on being honest on a daily basis. This wasn’t about telling the truth (which I just do, naturally), but about stopping saying the things I think others want to hear, about seeking clarification, and learning to say a simple “no”.

It’s been more of challenge than I thought.

Partly because I haven’t had many opportunities to put it into practise, and partly because it really is hard to change the habits of a lifetime. I know I am a people-pleaser, and while I don’t see anything wrong with this per se, I do acknowledge that it means putting myself out most of the time, to avoid someone else being put out instead.

However, I have tried. Oh boy, have I tried. For example:

~ A friend posted a photo on Facebook of a pair of shoes she’d just bought. I thought they were some of the ugliest shoes I’d ever seen, so instead of clicking that ominous little “like” button, or commenting, I simply left it. And then I was pleasantly surprised when she wore said shoes, and they were actually really cute!

~ We’ve had an influx of door-to-door salespeople recently, and usually I listen politely to their entire 15 minute spiel before taking the proffered leaflet and mumbling something about needing to speak to my husband about it first. However, I’ve found it isn’t quite as hard to say a Very Polite, “Let me just stop you now…” as I expected, and that they probably appreciate that honesty rather than getting their hopes up that I must be keen if I’ve listened to the whole story.

So you see, I’ve been trying really hard, and I think it’s getting easier. Of course, I am well aware that I will backtrack and find myself in a position where I really feel honesty is NOT the best policy, but I’m going to do my very best to make sure I keep on trying with this one.

One thought on “Being Honest

  1. Pingback: Journey to 35: Complete | Tall, Short & Tiny

Leave a Reply

