Hands up who loves breakfast?!

Every morning, I lie in bed, dozing, listening to Tall and Tiny chat over breakfast. Tall makes himself a big bowl of cereal, topped off with sliced fruit and a very precise four spoonfuls of yoghurt, and Tiny clambers all over him for his share.

Me…I’m more of a toast-and-Marmite kinda gal. I like cereal, but have to be in the right mood for it, and because I don’t use milk, I’m rather particular (okay, fussy) about the yoghurt I like to have instead. In England, I discovered strawberry Activia which was one brand my stomach didn’t react to, but when I was pregnant with Tiny, I went off this completely. As I haven’t discovered a suitable substitute here, I just don’t tend to bother.

But when I took delivery of a big package from Be Natural, I was pleasantly surprised at what was inside. Three boxes of cereal, plus two boxes of trail bars…awesome.

The trail bars did not last long. I ate them all. Tall didn’t even get a taste, and I think I shared maybe two with Tiny. They were delicious! The Berry flavour weren’t too sweet, and even though I don’t like cranberries, I hoovered them down. The Nut & Fruit ones had a great texture and weren’t too sweet either, which made them much easier to consume. I would certainly consider buying them the next time I was in the mood for muesli bars – being free of preservatives, artificial colours and flavours also made them more appealing.

We shared the cereals with my extended family while we were all holidaying in Wanaka after Christmas, simply because we knew the three of us would never get through them all in a reasonable time. Our review panel therefore grew to include my parents, my sister and brother-in-law, and my niece and nephew (discerning six- and four-year olds, respectively).

The unanimous verdict on the 5 Whole Grain Flakes cereal was that it had a nice crunch, but that served with just milk, it was rather bland and nondescript, and tasted like any other bran-like cereal. However, the addition of fruit and yoghurt improved it immensely, and the panel were impressed with the way the flakes retained some of their crunch despite a good soaking. My mother was particularly impressed with the low sodium content, something she has a bit of a personal crusade over.

The Pink Lady Apple & Flame Raisin cereal had its praises highly sung. The fruit was beautiful and plump, and the flavours were really nice. This one did hold its own when served with just milk, and my nephew deemed it to be his favourite.

Finally, we tried Cashew, Almond, Hazelnut & Coconut. I’m not a big coconut fan, but found the flavour to be much milder than I’d expected. This cereal had a fabulous crunch, with large chunks of nuts and crunchy little clusters of deliciousness. It was the winner in my eyes, and I think all of the adults agreed. Not too sweet, not at all bland, just purely yummy.

The RRPs for these cereals seems reasonable ($4.99 – $6.49), especially when you factor in the recycled packaging, natural ingredients, “free-from”s and nutritional values. Definitely ones to keep an eye out for, especially if your family enjoys a more natural cereal that packs a punch.

Leave a Reply

