An Update on Time

At the beginning of December, my goal was to use my time more wisely, by wasting less time online, and using any spare time more productively.

As you can probably tell by my distinct lack of posts during last month (and for much of this month!), I think it’s safe to say that I have indeed been finding other things to do with my time.

There was Christmas to plan (our first in our own home, and the first full family Christmas in about seven years), gifts to make, rooms to prepare, holiday bookings to be made, kitchen sinks to be packed….as well as books to be read, early nights to be had, and relaxing to be done. I was also feeling quite unwell, which meant I just didn’t feel like being online, or doing many other mundane things which I probably should have been doing.

Tiny has a really good daytime sleep routine now, which has made the middle part of the day much easier to utilise. He went through a stage of only sleeping in the car, but one day I had had enough (and the amount I was spending on petrol was getting ridiculous), and since then, he’s back to sleeping in his cot. This means I’ve been able to do householdy things while he sleeps, or read and have lunch, or garden, or sit in the sun outside, and it’s been awesome.

We spent the past two weeks travelling around the South Island, and in that time, I think I used the internet twice (to check accommodation bookings). I didn’t miss it, and it made me realise just how much time I do tend to waste on looking at nothing.

I’ve stopped checking email/Facebook/Pinterest etc etc every time I so much as glimpse the laptop, and have been making a real effort to not spend time on here while Tiny is awake.

I fully intend to continue to limit my internet usage to times when Tiny is asleep or as necessary (ie: when phoning the phone company to inquire about a random $25 charge and needing to see the bill in front of me), and to spend more time doing the things I enjoy doing. Elizabeth over at To Find a Silver Lining said that putting her laptop out of sight during the day really helped her do the same, so I’m in the process of working out where my out-of-sight-out-of-mind place could be.

I’ve also been spending much more time playing with Tiny, which has been fun and relaxing at the same time. Yes, it gets frustrating to be asked for the thousandth time to fix the trains, but we’ve also had a great time playing outside in the stunning weather, which has killed two birds with one stone, really. I’ve been getting plenty of vitamin D, and Tiny has been burning off loads of toddler energy.

As for spending weekend-time with Tall….well, me being sick has meant that I’ve spent a bit of time catching up on sleep and having a break from our son instead of spending time with my husband, but our two-week holiday was a great chance for us to spend a whole lot of quality time together as a family. And it was great! I will keep working on it though, and now that I’m feeling a bit better, I’m hoping I can stick to this part of the plan a little better.

Time goes by so quickly, and everyone is always saying, “Where has the time gone?”

At the end of each day, I’d like to be able to say, “This is where the time went…”, and feel as though I’ve used every waking moment to the fullest.

2 thoughts on “An Update on Time

  1. Pingback: Journey to 35: Complete | Tall, Short & Tiny

Leave a Reply

