Things I’m Loving

This week has been Garden Appreciation Week in the Tall, Short & Tiny household.

Two years ago, if you’d suggested I’d be doing any form of gardening, I would have laughed hysterically and squealed something about spiders and bugs. There’s something about owning your own home that seems to bring to life those gardening tendencies that seem to lie dormant while you’re paying rent to someone else. While visiting a friend this week, we left the children to play inside while we checked out her vegetable patch, her herbs and her berries – never before had we both been so excited to talk gardens!

I am loving my vege garden, which has been planted by ME this year!

There is something so nice about going out to pick a few lettuce leaves for a salad or a sandwich, straight from the soil to your mouth (with a brief stop by the tap to wash off any soil, of course!).

Even my herb garden is looking awesome. I love that everything is flourishing, despite the best efforts of the neighbourhood cats to dig up all my plants (grrrrrr!).

And the front is slowly, slowly emerging from under its carpet of horrid, horrid creeping oxalis. If you have ever encountered this weed, I pity you. If you haven’t, I hope you never do! We have spent the past month spraying, spraying, spraying, and now I am carefully digging up each and every square inch of the garden to make sure every last bit of it is gone.

When we moved into our house, I was almost eight months pregnant. The front garden was a mess, but I got out there each day and pulled out weeds (albeit in a strip just 20cm wide, because my massive belly allowed me to bend over no further), despite not having an inkling about what I was doing. I kept unearthing tiny white bulbs and lovingly replaced them in the soil, thinking they would be delicious spring flowers.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

You may have beaten me 21 months ago, oxalis, but I won’t be beaten again!!

And just because I’m feeling proud of my garden right now, here are two of my favourite things that are in bloom….


~~~~~~~~~
Linking up with PaisleyJade

2 thoughts on “Things I’m Loving

  1. I so get that. We were out weeidn yesterday. Our pre-decessors left us an incredible garden and suddenly I want to keep it going. Still sometimes confuse weeds for plants and visa versa though!!

Leave a Reply

