What I’m Reading

After devouring ‘The Help’ last week, I’m back onto a classic: ‘Moll Flanders’, by Daniel Dafoe. It’s another deviation from The BBC Big Read, but a classic I’ve been meaning to read for some time.


Initially, I thought I may have already read it, for an English class at high school, but I’m not sure that my semi-conservative all-girls school would have gone in for a novel about prostitution, bigamy and crime!

So far, I’m enjoying it. It’s an easy read, surprisingly, although I always struggle a little when the first-person female character is written by a man.

My only gripe is that the entire novel is written as one chapter (called, rather cleverly, Chapter One), and thus far, there haven’t been any “natural” breaks for me to read to (you know, when it’s past your bedtime and you think, I’ll just read to the end of the chapter, or the next page break…). This has resulted in a few later nights than anticipated, but that’s not wholly the fault of the book!

This morning when I woke, there was a box in the hallway, addressed to me. It had been opened by MAF, so I was curious as to what terrible item might have been inside. Then I noticed the postmark, and that it was addressed to my maiden name, and the penny dropped.


Lovely new books delivered straight to my door, from the crew at The Book Depository.


The Pile
was starting to look a bit sick….it looks much healthier now!


What are YOU reading at the moment?

8 thoughts on “What I’m Reading

  1. I am trying to work my way through the big read too, but lately I have deviated that far from the list I don’t think I will ever get it finished.

    I just finished reading the help yesterday! I loved it but the romantic in would of liked Stuart to turn out a little bit different!

    • Me too!! I had high hopes for that situation turning out completely differently….but it made the book more realistic, I think.

    • And another one arrived today!! What’s even better is that I’m using £££ to buy them, so each book cost less than a fiver!

  2. Great post! Nothing like the excitement of a new stack of unread novels. I’m currently reading “One Hundred Years of Solitude” for the first time and some of Italo Calvino’s short stories.

    • Hi! Thanks for stopping by.
      I loved “One Hundred Years of Solitude” – hope you’re enjoying it. I’ve never really been big on short stories, but one of these days, I’ll give them a go 🙂

    • Ah – maybe that’s where I’m confused, I may have seen the movie instead. The book is really good so far – you should dust it off and give it a go 🙂

Leave a Reply

