What We’re Reading

Week-before-last, I wrote that I was struggling my way through Ulysses, and was going to give it another 50 pages before deciding whether it was worth pursuing. Then the lovely Miriam commented that some classics just aren’t for everybody, which got me thinking….and I decided that she was spot on. So spot on, that after a mere five pages more, I decided to shelve (literally) Ulysses for the moment.

This is the first time in my adult life that I’ve not finished a book that I’ve started, and I must say, it feels a little bit odd. I’m still going to cross it off the list (my challenge, my rules!), and I’m not going to feel guilty about not finishing it. There are far too many other books I want to read; to dwell on the one I can’t would be just a bit silly.

So this week, I’ve started reading The Help, by Kathryn Stockett.

This is the book (and film) on everyone’s lips at the moment, and I will admit that I wasn’t sure it could live up to all the hype. However, I needn’t have worried – I am devouring this book like there’s no tomorrow! In fact, as I type, I am itching to get back to it, which is always a sign of a good book.

I’m also reading the chapter on Parenting in Kid Wrangling………..specifically, the section on tantrums.

Tiny has a rather large stubborn streak that comes from his father’s side, and has started to throw the odd tantrum. We’re finding them quite hilarious, but laughing at him only seems to enrage him more. We need to find a way of letting him know that we’re aware he’s frustrated, and try to help him deal with whatever he’s feeling at that time.

Tiny’s favourite book at the moment is quite random….Harvey the Decorator.

It was a gift from his slightly-crazy-with-a-heart-of-gold-desperate-for-her-own-grandkids great-aunt, and he LOVES it. It’s about a beaver, Harvey, and his little friend, Chip, painting a cupboard. Yep. That’s it, really. It even has painting tips at the end, which Tall takes great interest in.

He’s also loving A Squash and a Squeeze (about an old woman who complains about the size of her house until she takes in her hen, goat, pig and cow), and Guess How Much I Love You (about a little hare trying to express how much he loves his daddy, and about his daddy who loves him more that he will ever know), which are both lovely. What’s even lovelier is Tiny asking for them: “Skeeeeze? Luff Yoooo?”


Oh, and did you know that The Book Depository now has NZD as a currency?? If you haven’t checked them out before – do!! Best place for buying cheap books, plus they do free delivery worldwide, and have excellent customer service.

6 thoughts on “What We’re Reading

  1. Isn’t book depository the BEST !! !!
    We love ‘to the moon in back’ in this house too .. .. .. ..
    And I LOVED the Help!
    And I got 1/3rd of the way through London and put it aside ;'( just can’t get into it

    • I’ve just ordered six more books from TBD, and am impatiently checking the mailbox even though it’s only been a couple of days!!
      Everyone seems to have loved ‘The Help’, and I can see why. Tiny woke during the night and when I was back in bed, my mind instantly turned to where I’d left off!
      I loved ‘London’ – but can definitely see why some don’t like it. My dad borrowed it after I sang its praises, and he said he felt a bit “meh” about it too.

  2. So glad I could help you be a rebel!! 🙂 That Harvey book looks so cute. I love buying books new, second hand… but I only tend to buy – children’s books, craft books or adult books that I know I will re-read or share with others. (and by adult I mean grown up! not dodgy!)

  3. Yes, isn’t ‘The Help’ fantastic! I had much the same experience reading it – lots of dirty laundry 🙂 The movie is also very good and normally I refuse to go to movies of books I have read.

  4. Pingback: What I’m Reading | Tall, Short & Tiny

  5. Pingback: Book Wh*re | Tall, Short & Tiny

Leave a Reply

