Herb-Crumbed Tuna Steaks

We had loads of warning that this latest snowstorm was going to hit, so unlike last time, I was clever and picked up extra food provisions before the weekend. No more ratting through the pantry trying to create a meal out of thin air for this mama, no siree.

Kind of.

You see, I went to the Farmer’s Market on Saturday, and bought some lovely fresh tuna steaks. Got them home, popped them in the fridge, and promptly forgot about them.

Usually I buy our meat from the market on Saturday, plan our week’s menu around this on Sunday, and go grocery shopping on Monday. Despite the fact that all our snow was gone by the time we woke up yesterday, I wasn’t brave enough to venture out into the wind yesterday (just me? Yes; me and Tiny? Heck no!) and therefore didn’t get to the supermarket.

Once more, I had to get a bit creative and use my noodle to think about what might work with fresh tuna. In the past, I’ve always seared it and served it over or in a salad of some description, but this ain’t reeeeeally salad weather, and we didn’t have the right sort of ingredients.

The result was pretty darn tasty, if I do say so myself (which I do!). I therefore give you Herb-Crumbed Tuna Steaks with Creamy Mash and Warm Tomato and Mushroom Salsa

(served with Seasoned Avocado….because it was ripe and we needed something green)

Warm Tomato and Mushroom Salsa – serves 2 (once more, measurements are a guess!)

1T olive oil
300g cherry tomatoes, halved
1 onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, crushed
100g mushrooms, finely sliced
1T tomato paste
1t sugar
salt & pepper

Heat oil in a non-stick pan over a medium heat.

Add tomatoes, onion, garlic, mushrooms and tomato paste. Cook for 5mins, stirring occasionally.

Add sugar, and season. Reduce heat and simmer for 10-15mins until mushrooms are cooked and tomatoes have softened but are still holding their shape.

Herb-Crumbed Tuna Steaks

x2 tuna steaks
1T olive oil
1c coarse breadcrumbs
1t crushed garlic
2t herbs of your choice (I used dried oregano, dried thyme and a little bit of fresh parsley)

Mix oil, breadcrumbs, garlic and herbs together in a small bowl. Press onto both sides of fresh tuna steaks.

Heat a non-stick pan over a high heat. Sear tuna for 1-3mins each side (1min for rare, 3mins for well-done).

Serve tuna steaks atop creamy mashed potato* and warm tomato and mushroom salsa.

* My husband makes the BEST mashed potato. He laughs whenever I tell him this and says, “It’s only mashed potato…anyone can mash a spud.” Anyone CAN mash a spud, but not everyone can make it lump-free and so creamy.

2 thoughts on “Herb-Crumbed Tuna Steaks

Leave a Reply

