Raiding the Cupboards

Call me deranged, call me weird…call me whatever you will: I love doing the grocery shopping. Most people look at me like I have three heads (I don’t, I promise) when I say this, but it’s true – I love everything to do with food and eating, so choosing ingredients for the meals I am creating for the week is something I enjoy. Immensely.

Tiny and I usually do our grocery shopping on a Monday, but the snow threw a spanner in the works this week. Even though I knew the snow was forecast, I didn’t think we’d be affected, living at sea level, so didn’t get extra supplies over the weekend.

slim pickings

When it came to cooking dinner on Monday night, I found myself staring forlornly into the pantry and the fridge, until the latter beeped angrily at me to close the bleepin’ door. We had a handful of fresh carrots, half a (wrinkled) lemon, and a bag of apples…not really the makings of a nutritious and delicious family meal, no matter how much you like carrots (which Tall doesn’t).

 
So I got creative, and the result was surprisingly good! It’s amazing what you can make with a bit of basic knowledge and a willingness to try something new. The amounts in the recipe below are estimates; you could add onion, garlic and fresh herbs to the sauce if you had them (that’s how bare the cupboards were here – not an onion or a clove of garlic in sight!). You could make it into a lasagne instead, or serve it over any type of pasta…

Tuna and Spinach Cannelloni – serves 3-4

Tomato Sauce:
1 can tomato puree
1T tomato paste
1T sugar
1T dried oregano
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Mix all ingredients together until well combined. Spread a thin layer over the bottom of a baking dish.

Cannelloni:
215g fresh ricotta
250g frozen spinach, defrosted
200g tuna in springwater, drained and flaked
2 eggs
whole nutmeg, grated
pinch of salt
1 box cannelloni tubes (half of mine were broken, but they still worked!)
grated mozzarella cheese (any other cheese would work too)

Mix together ricotta, spinach, tuna, eggs, nutmeg and salt. Stuff into cannelloni tubes. Place tubes in a single layer on top of tomato sauce in a baking dish.

Pour over the remaining sauce; top with grated mozzarella and bake for 30-35mins until golden brown and pasta is cooked.

I was a bit unsure whether the tuna would work with the spinach and ricotta, but it did. Tall enjoyed it so much that he went back for seconds and had bagged up the leftovers for his lunch before I had a chance to get a photo!

One thought on “Raiding the Cupboards

  1. Pingback: Herb-Crumbed Tuna Steaks | Tall, Short & Tiny

Leave a Reply

