Red Velvet Cupcakes

Today is the sort of day where you want to stay in your pyjamas, curled up in front of a roaring fire with endless cups of tea, a good book and a sleeping child. It’s cold and windy and all wintery, and I don’t LIKE it.

However, as we have just one piece of kindling, I can’t light the fire. Yes, we have wood, and an axe and I COULD chop some more, but that would involve going outside again, and I have already put my slippers back on.

The heat pump is on duty today.

So, in honour of this wintery day, and my newly-reformed resolve to stick to my dairy-free diet, here is a delicious recipe to salivate over. I’ve wanted to try red velvet cake for AGES (it seems to be a popular choice for wedding cake in the UK – I’d never heard of it until we moved there), so when I saw this recipe, I had to try it out for a spot of Sunday afternoon tea with friends:

Red Velvet Cupcakes

125g butter, softened
1 1/2c caster sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
2 1/2c flour
1/4c cocoa
1 1/2t baking powder
1t baking soda
1c milk
1T liquid red food colouring
2t white vinegar
1t vanilla essence

Cream Cheese Icing

250g cream cheese, softened
150g butter, softened
3 1/2c icing sugar
1/2t vanilla essence

Preheat oven to 180degC. Line muffin pans with 18* paper cases.

Cream butter and sugar with an electric beater until light and fluffy. Add eggs one by one, beating well after each addition.

Sift flour, cocoa, baking powder and baking soda into a separate bowl.

Mix together milk, food colouring, vinegar and vanilla essence.

Fold dry and wet ingredients into creamed mixture alternately, in three batches.

Spoon mixture evenly into the paper cases. Bake for 20mins or until cooked. Set aside to cool.

To make the icing, beat the cream cheese and butter with an electric beater/mixer for 2-3mins until the mixture is very pale. Mix in the icing sugar and vanilla essence on a low setting.

Cover the cooled cupcakes with a generous swirl of icing.

* Perhaps my muffin pans are smaller than normal, but I managed to get 22 decent-sized cupcakes from this mixture!

Recipe: either Sainsbury’s Magazine or Foodtown Magazine – I clipped it out but I’m not sure where from!

3 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cupcakes

  1. Thanks for popping into my blog (To Find A Silver Lining)! I hadn’t thought of Google Maps, although Simone has given me fantastic directions, I might just look it up and work out the left and rights for coming home anyway.

    Thanks again!

    PS – Those cupcakes look divine, shame I’m not much of a baker ;-)!

  2. Pingback: Fun with Food: Chocolate Mud Cake | Tall, Short & Tiny

Leave a Reply

