Food, Glorious Food

This week, it feels like winter had finally arrived. We’ve had the heat pump AND the fire going, but I just can’t seem to get warm, so I’ve been cranking up the oven and getting all Nigella on it. Domestic Goddess? Moi? Oh, okay – if you insist.

In fact, I think I’d be a strong contender for “Most Awesome Wife EVER” after creating three of Tall’s favourite things: Yo-Yo biscuits, pizzas and lasagne.

yo! yo-yos!

Tall could eat a whole batch of Yo-Yos in one sitting. When he and I were flatting with six (yes, SIX) other lads, I spent a Sunday afternoon teaching Tall and another flattie (who I shall refer to as Giant, because, really, he was) how to make the perfect Yo-Yo. They came up with the brilliant idea of adding passionfruit pulp to the butter filling, which took these melt-in-the-mouth morsels to a whole new level of deliciousness. I was so proud of my boys…brings a tear to my eye, even years later.

sausage, blue cheese & onion jam pizza

salmon, dill, lemon & cream cheese pizza

Who doesn’t love a slice of homemade pizza? Actually…my stomach doesn’t and I think it’s telling me it’s time to get back to being dairy-free, bleurgh. After this:

layers of goodness

Day-two lasagne – how something so darn delicious can get even better when it’s a day old is beyond me!

orange delights

And lastly, orange and walnut muffins to take to Ashtanga Mum’s for our weekly Yoga Mums catch-up. Ashtanga Mum doesn’t bake and sent out an SOS to say she didn’t have any biscuits, so I offered to take something. What can I say? I love to bake.

3 thoughts on “Food, Glorious Food

  1. Pingback: Community service post #1 – how to make Yo-Yos & avert an international crisis « ChasSpainDesign

  2. Hi – I hope it’s ok but I’ve just used your beautiful ‘Yo-Yos in a tin’ photo for a further sharing of the Yo-Yo tradition. A fellow blogger from Europe had no idea what I was talking about so I posted a recipe – but as all mine were all eaten & I didn’t have a photo I looked for the best looking samples online. Definitely domestic goddess looking at this.. http://chasspain.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/community-service-post-1-how-to-make-yo-yos-avert-an-international-crisis/

Leave a Reply

